All travellers to New Zealand to self-isolate

All travellers to New Zealand to self-isolate

ABC NEWS 15 March 2020 – New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has announced new restrictions requiring travellers to be quarantined for 14 days upon entry into the country in an attempt to stop the spread of coronavirus.

The restrictions apply to all countries except for Pacific nations, and will come into effect at midnight on Sunday (10.00pm AEDT). It also includes any New Zealand citizens or residents returning to the country.

New Zealand has six confirmed cases and no recorded deaths.

Ms Ardern said these were “far-reaching and unprecedented” measures to tackle a global pandemic.

“Alongside Israel and a small number of Pacific islands who have effectively closed their borders, this decision will mean New Zealand will have the widest ranging and toughest border restrictions of any country in the world,” Ms Ardern said.