Narend Kumar re-elected as FHTA Board President

Narend Kumar re-elected as FHTA Board President

The Fiji Hotel & Tourism Association (FHTA) celebrated a successful 59th Annual General Meeting (AGM) today, marking a pivotal moment with the unopposed re-election of Narend Kumar from Tanoa Hotel Group as the Board President. Continuing his tenure, Kumar will join Vice Presidents Josephine Moffat of Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina and Lee Pearce of Raffe Hotels and Resorts.

Held at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, the AGM witnessed robust participation from members and associate members, offering insights into the Association’s activities and advocacy efforts over the preceding year.

“The tourism industry has consistently surpassed expectations, exceeding general projections,” remarked Narend Kumar, FHTA President, underscoring the industry’s resilience and growth. “FHTA remains dedicated to championing our members across diverse platforms and forums.”

The AGM also saw uncontested nominations for open Board director positions, confirming:

1. Brad Rutherford – South Sea Cruises
2. Brian Kirsch – Likuri Island Resort
3. Josephine Moffat – Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina
4. Narend Kumar – Tanoa Hotel Group
5. Steven Andrews – Castaway Island, Fiji

This 16-member board representing members from across the regions and diverse segments of the industry is poised to steer the tourism industry towards sustainability and conservation, aligning with FHTA’s core beliefs in seizing unique economic opportunities through well-crafted policies.

“We remain focused on building more robust partnerships with government ministries and agencies,” noted FHTA CEO Fantasha Lockington. “These collaborations aim to engage with a wide range of policy and regulatory stakeholders, drive industry growth, and ensure a thriving business environment through simplified compliance frameworks.”

FHTA remains committed to further developments and growth in the tourism sector and the continued economic support this promotes.